Father Scalia’s Historical Homilies

Below is a list of older Sunday homilies given by the Very Reverend Paul D. Scalia, Pastor of St. James Catholic Church.  In addition to Sunday homilies, other homilies for special Masses, Holy Days of Obligation, etc. may be posted too. If you have any problems accessing these homilies, email [email protected].

January 2022

December 2021

November 2021

October 2021

September 2021

August 2021

July 2021

June 2021

May 2021

Homilies for the beginning of 2021 through April 2021 can be found on our Twitter account, click here.

2020 Homilies

December 27: Fathers, Good and Bad

December 25: Peace on Earth

December 20: Questioning God  

December 13: Rejoicing Always

December 6: A Beautiful Hatred

November 29: Saving Face

November 26: Thanksgiving Ingredients

November 22: Christ or Chaos

November 15: Rejecting the Lie

November 8: A Light in the Darkness

November 1: All Saints – Grace, Example, and Aid

October 25: Three Loves and an Annual Report

October 18: What Belongs to God

October 11: Refusing and Falling Short

September 27: Sinners, Not Hypocrites

September 20: Envy Versus Generosity

September 13: Forgiveness – Giving and Receiving

September 6: Fraternal Correction in the Christian Life

August 30: Thinking as a Catholic

August 23: Truth & Authority for Freedom

Sunday, August 16: How to Pray Virtuously

Saturday, August 15: To Rejoice, To Hope, and to Strive

Sunday, August 9: To Walk on Water

Sunday, August 2: Nourishment in the Desert

Sunday, July 26: The Conversion of St. James

Sunday, July 19: God’s Patience and Ours

Sunday, July 12: Obstacles to Receiving Christ

Sunday, July 5: The Yoke that Frees

Sunday, June 28: Worthy of Him

Sunday, June 21: What to Fear

Sunday, June 14: Remember, Do Not Forget

Sunday, June 7: Trinity and Society in Crisis

Sunday, May 31: A Place, People, and Person

Sunday, May 24: The Christian’s Two Locations 

Sunday, May 17: Gift, Advocate, Truth

Sunday, May 10: The Cornerstone, and Living Stones

Sunday, May 3: Good Shepherd, Good Sheep

Sunday, April 26: An Elusive Easter

Sunday, April 19: Devine Mercy, Authentic Mercy

Sunday, April 12: A Hidden Life

Sunday, April 5: Power to Lay Down His Life?

Sunday, March 29: Stretched in Faith

Sunday, March 22: By Christ Enlightened for Christ

Sunday, March 15: The Samaritan Woman: An Image of the Soul

Sunday, March 8: The Goal of Our Striving

Sunday, March 1: Triumph Through Trust

Wednesday, February 26: Penance as a Virtue

Sunday, February 23: Inside-Outside Law

Sunday, February 16: Lenten Preparation (Bishop’s Lenten Appeal)

Sunday, February 9: The Presentation: Obedience, Sacrifice, and Light

Sunday, February 2: Threefold Metanoia

Sunday, January 26: Behold, the Lamb of God Anew

Sunday, January 19: Heavens, Dove, and Voice

Sunday, January 12: Science’s Epiphany

Sunday, January 5: Mary, Defender of the Faith